My 2012 DIY list

Photo credit

Let me just say this:  I am not crafty.

Crafting and DIY projects simultaneously scare and excite me.  I can usually follow directions and come up with a pretty good replica of a simple craft, but there have been failures.  Many failures.

But this is the year I take the bull by the horns and go for it!  I’ll be proud of myself for trying, but I also hope to “succeed” in some crafty projects this fine year of 2012.

It might not be pretty nor pleasant, but I will try each project on this list.  I just might not show you each final product…:)

I’ll do a couple each month which gives me plenty of time to research (beg friends and family for help) and prep each project.  I love working in the kitchen so my DIY list involves bunches of cooking.  I’m going to split the Food DIY into 1 per month.  I figure those projects have a better chance at success than the others–that’ll give me a boost of confidence and the will to go on when I want to throw measuring tapes, Mod Podge, yeast, and scissors through the windows.  I have a bit of a temper.

You might notice how simple many of these DIY projects are…ridiculously simple.  And I like it that way.

Since I have to go with what I’m “in the mood” for, I haven’t decided when I’ll do each project.  But I’ll let you know what I do each month.  Here goes…

Home:

  • Embroider a “vintage” dishtowel/bathroom handtowels
  • Sew curtains for our powder room
  • Sew curtains for laundry room
  • Make a chalkboard frame
  • Sew basket liners
  • Make chairpads
  • Make seasonal placemats
  • Create Family Picture Gallery

Kitchen:

Personal/Family:

  • Create a digital family cookbook (I bought a Groupon for this and it expires soon!)
  • Homemade dog biscuits
  • Sew a phone pouch

Kiddo:

  • Sew a cuddling pillow
  • Make hair detangler
  • Make a clip holder for daughter’s room
  • Embroidery to frame for daughter’s room

Because I’m determined (but unproductive thus far) to complete a scrapbook this year, I’ll also be continually working on that.  I’ll add that to my weekly goals and do a page or 2 (or 10?) when I have time.  I’ll also be slowly decorating and cozying up our home which will take me all year.  Or all decade.  eep.

Do you have any DIY projects you’re hoping to tackle this year?  What projects have you already completed?  Love to hear about your DIYs!

Trackbacks

  1. […] found this free project list that is perfect for my DIY projects for 2012.  Not only is it simple and straightforward, I also find it lovely.  You, too, can […]

  2. […] I tackled another do-it-yourself project on my 2012 DIY list: homemade vanilla coffee creamer.  Why haven’t I been making this homemade creamer all my […]

  3. […] about time I get back on my own DIY 2012 wagon.  It’s May 5th […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)