Abby’s Friendship Zucchini Gratin

Abby's Friendship Zucchini Gratin: Cozycakes Cottage

A few months ago my husband was out of town and I was having a rough day.  My thoughtful friend Abby asked me if she could drop dinner off for me, but I said no thanks, I was fine.  I should have known she wouldn’t listen to me.  A bit later I got a text from her saying she’d left dinner on my front porch.  That’s what best friends do.  They often know what you need even when you haven’t a clue what you need.  🙂  And it’s one of the reasons I love that girl.  I was actually hungry and I scarfed the meal down in no time at all.

This zucchini side dish was part of that comforting meal.  I love zucchini and though I generally grill or sauté it simply with onion, garlic and olive oil, this is a slightly more indulgent way to prepare it for yourself or guests.  Abby’s recipe is perfect as is, but I made a few changes only because I didn’t have all ingredients on hand and I had oodles of mushrooms.  Hers included yellow squash.  If you’re a zucchini/squash fan, you’ll enjoy this.  {Dear Abby, I love ya! ♥ Thank you!}

Abby’s Friendship Zucchini Gratin

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced or sliced ( I used half a medium onion)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 medium zucchini, sliced about 1/2 inch thick
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced (we love creminis)
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1/2 cup cream or half and half
  • 1 cup panko crumbs or breadcrumbs
  • kosher salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 3/4 cup freshly grated parmesan

Preheat oven to 450°.  Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat.  Add onion and garlic.  Cook for about a minute.  Add zucchini, mushrooms, and shallot.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Cook for about 5 minutes.  Add cream or half and half and cook for another 5 minutes.  Mix in 1/2 cup panko and half the parmesan .  Mix until combined.  Place in an 2 quart (square or oval) baking dish.  Top with the rest of the panko and parmesan.  Bake for 10 minutes or until top is lightly browned.

Enjoy ♥

Comments

  1. Yum I want to make this!

  2. Danielle.. I love zucchini.. hubby not so much so I will have to make this before he comes home. Pinning it.

  3. You give me too much credit, Danielle! You honestly teach me how to be a better friend everyday. Love ya!

    P.S. – My hubs is not a fan of zucchini or squash but he actually enjoys it in this rich dish (score!) 🙂

  4. Love a good tasty side dish especially veggies. Will try this maybe..Im not a zuchini fan but yellow and star squash is grand.

  5. That is so sweet of your friend Abby!! What a lovely story!

  6. Deborah says:

    I’m sorry if I’m mistaken but I did not see how much onion to put in. I’d like to make this. It looks delish!

    • Oh Deborah, my apologies! I fixed that mistake in the ingredients list–I just dice half an onion (we like onion a lot so I use half a medium-size onion). I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and to let me know! 🙂 Hope you enjoy it! ~Danielle

  7. chindeep3141 says:

    What a sweet gesture 🙂 I love friend stories. XOXO ~M

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

