Comfort of Home 4th of July & Peaches n’ Cream Cobbler Pie

Duke 4th

We celebrated the 4th of July (Happy Birthday, America!) in just my style.  I was hoping to stick close to home for a couple reasons and Mr. Cozycakes thought that was fine, too.  Ahhh, there’s nothing like staying at home for real comfort.  And so says one of my favorite gals, Jane Austen.  Can’t disagree with her.

DSC_1004 walk on 4th pm

After a relaxing morning we took a stroll up the road to lunch.  The marine layer burned off quickly in the a.m. and we enjoyed the sunny skies and cool breezes–perfect.  My husband teases that I have little tolerance for temps rising over 78°.  Kind of the truth. 🙂

DSC_0978 carnitas taco pm

We spread our picnic blanket in the shade of our favorite tree in the park and Munchie sang us patriotic songs she composed herself (“USAaaaaaaay, it’s your bir-irthdaaaay…Happy Birthday, USAAAAAA, I love your flag and your wavy waaaay…I love fireworks todaaaay…ANT!”) while she drew pictures.  I gobbled up a carnitas taco that really hit the spot.  I appreciate a taco that needs little more than flavorful meat.

Peaches n' Cream Cobbler Pie (peach layer) Cozycakes Cottage

We continued our leisurely ways until dinner hour hit.  We grilled out and I had a pre-fireworks celebration in my head because Munchie asked for a serving of salad!  My girl eats so well and always has–she eats whatever I put on her plate without complaint even if she doesn’t love something.

Peaches n' Cream Cobbler Pie (whole): Cozycakes Cottage

Veggies are her favorite, but raw veggies are not.  For about a year I have given her salad on occasion, but usually just leave the bowl on the table in the hopes that one day soon she’ll join in our salad-loving ways without pressure.  Yesterday was the day!

Peaches n' Cream Cobbler Pie (Cut): Cozycakes Cottage

Of course we had to celebrate such a momentous occasion (oh yes, and the 4th!) with dessert.  Any excuse for dessert, right?  I tell ya, this pie (which is more a pie-cobbler hybrid) is so easy to make and tasty to boot.  If you’ve never had this and like peaches and cobbler, I urge you to give it a shot.

Peaches n' Cream Cobbler Pie (top slice): Cozycakes Cottage

I haven’t found perfect peaches yet this summer (boohoo) so while you can certainly use them, canned or home-canned peaches suit this dessert.  The juices from the canning add great flavor to the cream cheese layer.

Peaches n' Cream Cobbler Pie (slice fork): Cozycakes Cottage

I like to mellow out the cream cheese layer with a little sour cream and top it all off with a sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar.  I make it in a springform pan instead of a pie dish because I like the way it rises up and cooks on the edges.  Plus, I have a tendency to add a lot of peaches and this prevents overflow when baking.  Though I prefer it refrigerated for a couple of hours (which also helps the top layer to firm up), you can certainly enjoy it warm.  We had our cobbler while we sat in the backyard watching the fireworks display.  Happy ♥.

Peaches n’ Cream Cobbler Pie

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  •  3 1/4 oz. dry Jell-O vanilla pudding & pie filling (not instant)
  • 3 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 2-15 oz cans sliced peaches (I use 1 and 1/2 of the cans) OR your own canned peaches OR fresh peach slices, drained with 4 Tbsp. juices reserved
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 3 Tbsp. sour cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • the 4 Tbsp. reserved peach juice
  • Bit of cinnamon and sugar (I use about 1/4 tsp. cinnamon mixed with 3 tsp. sugar)

Preheat oven to 350°.  Spray a springform pan with Baker’s Joy or butter it well.  In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, salt, Jell-O pudding, butter, egg, milk, and vanilla.  Beat with a hand mixer for about 2-3 minutes until thoroughly mixed and smooth.  Pour into pan.  Gently place peaches in batter.  You can use as many as you like and place them however you wish (I like to place them in a circular form as pictured).  Sprinkle with brown sugar.  Set aside.

In medium bowl, use a hand mixer to blend the cream cheese, sour cream, sugar, and reserved peach juice until smooth.  Spread evenly over the peach layer leaving about a 1-inch space around edge of pan.  Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture over the top.  Bake for about 30-40 minutes.  The middle of the pie won’t be completely firm (it will jiggle a bit when you shake the pan), but will firm up as it cools.  Cool and refrigerate for a few hours until ready to serve.  Serve with whip cream or vanilla ice cream.

Enjoy! ♥

Comments

  1. List made for the grocery store to try the cobbler! It looks yummy! Sounds like the only thing missing from your party was an Uncle Sam in costume! What size is Mr. Cozycakes?
    Love the pictures!

  2. sue ward says:

    Totally Awesome I Have been searching for tis recipe for ages. This is the best Thanks so much for posting this recipe is a keeper.

  3. That pie looks incredible! Sounds like you guys had a great day 🙂

  4. Grabbing some canned peaches today at the store! This looks easy and delicious 🙂

  5. Your pie looks insanely good, I can’t take my eyes off it. 🙂 Pinning! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

  6. This sounds like a recipe I need to try.

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

