Slow Cooker Apricot Ginger Chicken

Slow Cooker Apricot Chicken: Cozycakes Cottage

Life’s been a little hectic lately so I’ve relied often on my handy-dandy slow cooker.  This is another yummy slow cooker recipe that calls for chicken thighs which I like because they don’t get easily dried out like chicken breast can.  My husband and little girl really enjoy this over brown rice with veggies.  The apricot and ginger are not overpowering at all.  They create good flavor and a nice little sauce to pour over your chicken and rice, too.

Apricot Ginger Chicken

Ingredients

  • about 2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • kosher salt & freshly ground pepper
  • 1 jar apricot preserves (I use a 12 oz. jar of Smuckers)
  • 1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp. fresh ginger, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. red chile flakes
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1 medium (or half large) red bell pepper, diced

Place chicken thighs in your slow cooker (I rinse my chicken and snip off excess fat).  Salt and pepper them lightly.  In a bowl, mix the preserves, mustard, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, and chile flakes together.  Pour over the chicken.  Mix chicken and sauce a bit to coat chicken.  Place diced onions on top of chicken.  Cover and cook on high for 4 hours.  When about 45 minutes of cook time remain, mix the bell pepper in.  Serve with rice.

*Please adjust cook time to suit your slow cooker since they can vary slightly.

Enjoy! ♥

Adapted from Make It Fast, Cook It Slow.

Comments

  1. What do you think would happen if I used peach instead of apricot?

  2. This looks fantastic! I’m always looking for more recipes for my crockpot. Thank you!

  3. This looks great! I am always looking for more slow cooker recipes. Thanks! 🙂

  4. dearjes says:

    Yum!

  5. Ooh, looks good! My husband is fruit-averse (he’s weird), so I will just not tell him that it has apricot jam in it and we should be good 🙂 Thanks for another great recipe…

  6. Have not had great success with slow cookers but this looks great might try and if not right will donate the cooker in the clear out ;-).. seems that the tarter the fruit the better..humm

  7. chindeep3141 says:

    this looks incredible! another winner, D! XOXO

    ~M

  8. The sauce looks similar to a dip I made to go with Coconut Chicken Strips and my family loved it. I’m so excited to try this! I am a huge crock pot user since it seems we always have a busy schedule. (I need to stop thinking things will slow down!) Definitely going to try this one – thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. […] – Apricot Ginger Chicken, rice, […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

