May Clutter-Busting Challenge: Day 11 & A real friend shows you the inside of her fridge

clutter-busting-challenge logo

I’m joining Crystal of Money Saving Mom in her May challenge: Clutter-Busting Challenge: Get Rid of Seven Things Every Single Day in May!   Wanna join me?  Here’s what you do…

Each week day in May go through your house and find 7 things you can toss, donate, recycle, sell, or find someone else who can use them.  That’s it.  These can be big or small things, it doesn’t matter. What matters is that you actually throw them out, sell them, donate them, recycle them, or find someone else who can use them. But such a simple challenge can reap huge rewards.  I bet many of us will find more than 7 items some days.

fridge exterior day 11

You know I’m being honest with ya when I show you my fridge.  Fingerprints and all.  And that’s not all, folks.  I’m going to show you the inside of it.  That’s true friendship.  Doesn’t get much deeper than that. 🙂

I didn’t get started on clutter-busting until late in the day, but I managed to get my 7+ items.  Whew.  I also tossed a lot of stuff from the fridge, wiped it down, and organized it.  So here’s what the inside of my fridge looks like now (I forgot to take before pics…aren’t the before pics the best???)

right fridge door day 11

The right fridge door.  We pull from this door daily.  Butter, honey, jams, etc.  I tossed a couple jams that had expired.  I hate wasting, but I found a little mold on some marmalade jars. 

left fridge door day 11

The left fridge door.  Though we’ve had this fridge several months now, I haven’t removed that bright yellow label because removing all labels from appliances scares me.  What if I forget what it says?!

main fridge interior day 11

Fridge interior.  Although this probably doesn’t look organized to you, it IS organized just how I like it.  I think most people have a fridge “system” and this is what works for me.  Also, this isn’t a completely honest representation of how my fridge normally looks.  This is what it looks like when I’ve hit just one market for the week.  My shopping schedule was thrown off a bit with a sick little one, but tomorrow I’ll hit up Trader Joe’s so it’ll fill up even more.   Yes, I am Danielle and I love food. 

Do you feel closer to me now?  😉

declutter pile day 11

Here’s what I got rid of today:

  • 15 magazines
  • 1 broken flag
  • Build-a-Bear Workshop box
  • Expired items from the fridge

Did you do more decluttering?  If you have a blog and would like to share a link to your 7+ items as well, please feel free to do so in the comments.  If you don’t have a blog, please still share in the comments about your progress!  Encouraging one another is a big aspect of this challenge!

More posts in this series:

Comments

  1. My fridge re: ice box (my parents called it that) is in dire need of a major wipe down…just saying wouldn’t post pics…forget the pre 😉

  2. You didn’t “forget” to take Before pics. Admit it: you didn’t take Before pics on purpose! 😉
    I don’t blame you, but I am disappointed I don’t get to compare your mess to mine. ha!

  3. So here I say that I am so organized (well, really I am), but I have found some pretty random things to give away this week…a toddler bike helmet, a Star Wars costume Matty NEVER wore, and hair pieces from Alyssa’s cheerleading days. Oh, and I tackled the kid’s bathroom vanity. I keep opening it just to look at it. (Just like I do when I clean my oven!) Anyway, happy purging and organizing. It feels lovely!

  4. Your fridge “probably doesn’t look organized” to us? Are you crazy? I think it looks amazing! I’ve tried for years to get the hubs to understand my system and it isn’t happening! I love the “glide and slide” drawer!

    • You are kind, ABBY! I know your fridge is probably immaculate! I’m going to check it next time I’m over. 😉 Don’t even think about retaliating by sneaking into my closet. Hahaha, that glide and slide drawer is huge! Except things get frozen in there and I’ve yet to figure out how to prevent it.

Trackbacks

  1. […] May Clutter-Busting Challenge Day 11 & A real friend shows you the inside of her fridge […]

  2. […] May Clutter-Busting Challenge Day 11 & A real friend shows you the inside of her fridge […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

