May Clutter-Busting Challenge: Day 10

clutter-busting-challenge logo

I’m joining Crystal of Money Saving Mom in her May challenge: Clutter-Busting Challenge: Get Rid of Seven Things Every Single Day in May!   Wanna join me?  Here’s what you do…

Each week day in May go through your house and find 7 things you can toss, donate, recycle, sell, or find someone else who can use them.  That’s it.  These can be big or small things, it doesn’t matter. What matters is that you actually throw them out, sell them, donate them, recycle them, or find someone else who can use them. But such a simple challenge can reap huge rewards.  I bet many of us will find more than 7 items some days.

day 10

I managed to go through many magazines today even though it pains me to part with them.  I’ll admit it feels wonderful to get them out of the house.  I only have about 1,589 left to go.  I started off looking through my cookbooks, but I only parted with one.  Hey, it’s a start.

Here’s what I got rid of today:

  • 28 magazines
  • 7 pens/markers
  • 1 Betty Crocker journal/cookbook about heart health
  • Organic body scrub that made me itchy
  • 3 packages of pasta–the boxed pasta was organic from Germany which I thought would be great.  Not so.  It breaks into a million pieces when it hits the water and turns to mush.
  • The Trader Joe’s brown bag is filled with papers from the office.  I’m not done in there, but it was progress.

Did you do more decluttering?  If you have a blog and would like to share a link to your 7+ items as well, please feel free to do so in the comments.  If you don’t have a blog, please still share in the comments about your progress!  Encouraging one another is a big aspect of this challenge!

More posts in this series:

Comments

  1. Holy cow, woman! Are you reading the magazines or just getting rid of them without going through them first? I’d love to see your “collection”. LOL
    Good job purging. 🙂

  2. I’m right there with you on the magazines! While I don’t have a lot of subscriptions…it’s hard for me to part with the ones I do have. Good for you for getting rid of 28! 🙂

  3. Oh boy, I have a hard time parting with magazines too! My magazine basket is filled to overflowing again, and I may have to take that on today. I will never part with my Cook’s Country magazines though 🙂

    • My dirty secret is that I have piles of magazines under my bed. I’ve managed to get that down to just 2 piles, but I have other baskets of mags around the house…help. You should absolutely NEVER part with those Cook’s Country mags! I keep anything from ATK, too!

  4. So impressed (and a little jealous!) with your decluttering! I usually have done more by this point in May because I have a garage sale coming up. I’ve been so busy with sports and school activities though I haven’t been able to get much done! Good job Danielle! 🙂

    • Thanks, Beth! I have had to make a concerted effort to stick with this, but I have a long way to go. Life gets in the way, doesn’t it? 😉 I bet you will have very little clutter after the garage sale….envy!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

