Tomato Feta Orzo Salad

Orzo salad 904 2nd

I ate about 2 cups of this with my dinner the other night.  That’s a lot.  Especially since the 2 cups was consumed with 2 BBQ drumsticks, corn on the cob, potato salad, and asparagus.  And French bread.  With butter.  I never said I was a light eater.

However, this is a light side dish (or light lunch) that tastes especially fresh with garden fresh tomatoes and cucumbers and is so easy to make ahead and chill.  I change it up depending on what I’m in the mood for (or whatever is in my fridge)….red onion, kalamata olives, fresh mozzarella, spinach, basil, nuts, avocado.  The dressing is very light so the fresh ingredients shine.  We like it fully chilled.  Just change it up to suit your tastes!

Enjoy! ♥

Tomato Feta Orzo Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. orzo, cooked and drained (I cook it just barely al dente so it doesn’t get too soft when it soaks up the dressing)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (I use Meyer lemons)
  • 1 heaping Tbsp. honey
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 4 Tbsp. chives, chopped
  • 1/2 an English cucumber, diced
  • 2 cups sugar-plum tomatoes, halved
  • 1 can black olives, halved
  • 1 12-oz. jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained and cut in quarters (mine are Trader Joe’s brand and are already quartered)
  • 5 oz. feta cheese, crumbled (add more or less to taste)

Whisk the oil, lemon juice, honey, salt, pepper, and chives in a small bowl until thoroughly combined.  Set aside.  Combine remaining ingredients in a large bowl.  Pour the lemon dressing over pasta mixture and mix/toss until thoroughly combined.  Cover bowl and refrigerate until fully chilled.  I like to make it early in the day so it is completely cold for serving.  Toss again before serving.

Comments

  1. Love this recipe! I could eat so much of this! 🙂

  2. This looks really yummy. May have to put my fave orzo salad on the bench and give this a try next time! Yum!

  3. Love the looks of this. Yummy 🙂

  4. I found this SO tasty! It was fresh and light, yet filling, too! My favorite part was that I was getting some veggies in for the day in a delicious way. Thanks so much for sharing. You continue to build my recipe repertoire and my family thanks you for that!

  5. Orzo is new to me – I thought it was rice in the photo until I read your post… I wonder if I can buy it in the UK?

    • Hi! I sure hope you can find it there. It’s just a tiny little pasta that seems like rice. 🙂 So versatile and great for summer salads. If not, perhaps you can order some from Amazon? We can get it for about $1 to $1.50 a box here so I hope you can get a good deal!

  6. This looks so summery and appetising. When the weather warms up a bit here I’d like to make it and eat it outside on a sunny day.

  7. Can’t wait to try!! Yummo!!

  8. I’m drooling over here! I’ll have to make this over the weekend with some hamburgers and corn 🙂

  9. chindeep3141 says:

    Yummers! i’m making a grilled chicken recipe featuring orzo within the next couple weeks! your recipe looks so good!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

