Goal Break Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Goal Break Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies: Cozycakes Cottage

It’s February.

Just in case you didn’t know.  A few days ago I woke feeling like I’d fallen behind on 2013.  As if I sleepwalked through January and now I better kick it in high gear and get moving.  Surely the rest of the world population has accomplished a bit in the last month.

Goal Break Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (2): Cozycakes Cottage

I tore open my bedroom curtains (which means I’m ready to face the sun which means I’m awake, people).  Ready to meet deadlines, attack goals, create and put my thang down, flip it and reverse it, gosh darn it.

But as my eyes adjusted to that annoying bright light, I squinted at figures in the park across from our home.  People taking morning strolls with their goal-oriented dogs (my pooch was snoring at the end of my bed).  Chatting in small groups.  What were they talking about?  All the things they’ve crossed off their to-do lists?  Perhaps a little neighborhood think tank discussing viable alternatives to current government policies?  Shame.

Goal Break Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (3): Cozycakes Cottage

But no.  I saw  heads thrown back in laughter, flailing children, Frisbees sailing through the air, a dog running full speed away from its owner who was relaxing on a bench, head back, face to the sun.  No air of urgency, no exhibition of anything important other than the need to soak in the clear, cool morning.

I flopped back in bed and read my book for a bit.  It seemed the thing to do.

Later I did get to work on a 2013 goal (organizing and decorating our upstairs loft space) and I felt good about myself.  It doesn’t take much, does it?  But after all that dedicated work (30 minutes), I needed a break and cookies called my name.  I had to stop accomplishing and changing the world.  I had to bake these cookies and, come to think of it, I bet cookies can change the world.

Goal Break Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (4): Cozycakes Cottage

These are for those of you who (like me) enjoy a crisp-edged, chewy-centered oatmeal raisin cookie.  They’re really good.  I didn’t stop at merely one and I certainly hope you don’t either.  You deserve it…with all that goal-accomplishing you’re up to.

Enjoy! ♥

Goal Break Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract
  • 3 cups oatmeal (I use Quaker Old Fashioned)
  • 1 cup raisins, soaked in warm water for about 20 minutes then drained
  • 1 cup golden raisins (I don’t soak these as mine are generally plump and don’t need the soak)

Line cookie/baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.  In a large bowl, sift the flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, cloves, and nutmeg together.  Set aside.  In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment (or a hand mixer will work), beat the butter and both sugars on medium speed until thoroughly mixed, about 1 minute.  On low speed, add the eggs, vanilla, and almond extract.  Beat for about 1 minute until thoroughly mixed.  Scrape down the bowl and then add the flour mixture to the bowl and beat about 30 seconds.  Add the oatmeal and raisins and beat until just mixed.

Scoop (I used a small ice cream scoop) about 2 Tbsp. of dough per cookie and place in rough ball on parchment-lined sheets.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes to an hour to firm the dough.  Remove from fridge and flatten cookies a bit.  Bake in preheated oven at 350° for about 13-15 minutes.  You want them very lightly browned and slightly browned on the edges.  Cool on sheet for a few minutes before removing (they will break if lifted too soon as the centers are soft which gives you the chewy effect once you let them cool a bit).

Joined the fun at Feeding Big’s In and Out of the Kitchen Party.

Comments

  1. Looks delicious – I need to get back into cookie making mode.

    And I’d love to have a non goal oriented dog – know where I can find one?

  2. This is a great recipe. The cookies are too good to eat only one.

  3. carriedavis34690820 says:

    Stopping by from In and Out of the Kitchen–thanks for sharing this! These look really good!
    By the way–I love your blog theme. The Pretty Young Thing theme was one of the themes I considered for my blog.

  4. Oh my goodness….I have felt the same way all January. It must be the cold weather.

    Need to make some cookies here, but we are all out of flour until I get to the store tomorrow….looking at the pics of your lovely cookies will have to do 🙂

    • I’m glad I’m not alone! It has been a cold winter for us in this area (though others would laugh at what is cold here)…I’m loving it though! I wish I could “lend” ya some flour! xxx

  5. Hi! I can’t wait to try this recipe! Two quick questions though. Do I bake them on the parchment paper and is that the same thing as wax paper? Thanx so much, Cyndi

    • Hi Cyndi! Yep, you bake them on the parchment paper. Parchment isn’t waxy so it is a bit different. It really helps with baking cookies. They have it with the wax paper, foil, saran wrap in Target, grocery stores, etc. Also, you can use the same paper a few times (for example, I generally reuse the same parchment for the entire batch of cookies which means I use it 2 or 3 times). Hope that helps! 🙂

  6. Ann Steele says:

    You need to know I have always hated oatmeal raisin cookies. Besides the generally disappointing realization it wasn’t chocolate, I had a childhood aversion to raisin-only baked goods. Recently, I was prevailed upon by a friend to bake 75 giant oatmeal raisin cookies for a special occasion. Ugh. My least favorite cookie. After trolling the net waters, I came across your recipe. It looked promising enough to try a round. The cookies baked beautifully, but still for me there was no appeal. I tasted them, and even I could admit they were really good–for what they were. But then something happened as I continued to bake round after round of cookies. Those naughty cookies began to call out to me and make me want them. Outrageous. I have no idea how you did it, but here I am. An oatmeal raisin cookie convert. These cookies are ridiculous.

    • Ann, I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to try these cookies and comment–you definitely made my day AND made me smile. I’m so pleased that these cookies worked out for you, an oatmeal raisin cookie hater! Hurray! 🙂 I hope your friend enjoys them as well! Thank you again! 🙂

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

