Dark Chocolate Chip Toffee Cookie Cake a la Mode

cookie cake with ice cream

Alright.  I craved this today.  It’s kind of like a low-budget Pizookie…well, it actually IS a lower budget Pizookie.  So…you could make your favorite cookie recipe in a cast iron pan and enjoy that deliciousness with ice cream.  I highly recommend it.

But then there are days when you lack the time or motivation and, instead, make this with a boxed cake mix.  I’m not encouraging you to never make a Pizookie pie.  But this hits the spot when you’re home, craving a little cookie pie à la Mode, and are feeling less than enthusiastic about putting much effort into it (ahem….me).  Try this with a chocolate cake mix and you’ve got gooey brownies à la Mode.

No judging please.

You can add whatever you like when it comes to chocolate chips and other additions.  The recipe I’m sharing includes a mix of semi-sweet chocolate chunks, dark chocolate chips, and toffee candy bar bits.  And please, please, please eat it warm with chocolate syrup and ice cream.  You must eat it warm with ice cream and syrup!

Enough shouting.  Here you go.

Dark Chocolate Chip Toffee Cookie Cake à la Mode

Ingredients

  • 1 box yellow cake mix (I use Duncan Hines)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 5 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips, chopped
  • 1/4 cup toffee candy bar bits (these are already chopped finely in the package)

*You want about 1.5-2 cups  total of the chocolate/candy mix.

Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease a 9 x 13-in. pan.  Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  Dough will be stiff.  Place in the greased pan.  Lightly wet hands and press dough out evenly in pan with hands.  Bake for about 25 minutes.  Let cool for just a few minutes and serve warm with ice cream and chocolate syrup (don’t skip the ice cream!).

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Bell Book Candle.

  2. joyfromyesterfood says:

    I’m pretty sure I just fainted out of sheer bliss! 🙂

  3. One thing I can promise you is that I am going to be making this very, very soon! It sounds AMAZING!

  4. This picture is such a beautiful temptation.

  5. This sounds soooo good. I love toffee and haven’t had it in forever. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  6. Looks delicious friend! You have any left? I’m coming over 😉

  7. Yum!

  8. chindeep3141 says:

    pure decadence! oh my gosh. now i’m hungry! 🙂

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

