Cooking with Gooseberry Patch: Dilly Casserole Bread

Dilly Casserole Bread: Cozycakes Cottage

I woke feeling a little off today.  Kind of an earache, kind of a throat scratch, kind of icky.  To ward off the cold that was lurking, planning to attack if I plopped on the couch, I drank lots of hot water with honey and lemon, and kept busy.  I still feel icky, but not worse.  No complaints here (for now).

I craved a basic soup meal so made this bread to go with veggie chowder.  It’s easy, soft, and perfect with a bowl of hot soup.  We spread a bit of dill butter on top and enjoyed a slice pre-dinner.  We like dill rolls, but I decided to try this simple bread instead and it’s another keeper from Gooseberry Patch.

Here’s the recipe shared by Margie Schaffner of Altoona, IA.  Thanks, Margie!

Dilly Casserole Bread

101 Homestyle Favorites contributed by Margie Schaffner of Altoona, IA.

Ingredients

  • 1 env. active dry yeast
  • 1/4 c. warm water
  • 1 c. cottage cheese
  • 2 T. sugar
  • 1 T. dried minced onion
  • 2 T. butter, softened and divided
  • 2 t. dill weed, divided
  • 1-1/2 t. salt, divided
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2-1/4 to 2-1/2 c. all-purpose flour

Soften yeast in very warm water, about 110 to 115 degrees.  Combine cottage cheese, sugar, onion, one tablespoon butter, one teaspoon dill weed, one teaspoon salt, baking soda, egg and yeast mixture in a medium bowl.  Add flour to make a stiff dough.  Cover and let rise until double in size, about 40 minutes.  Stir dough down; place in a greased 9″ x 5″ loaf pan.  Let rise again for 40 minutes.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes, or until golden.  Brush with remaining butter; sprinkle with remaining dill weed and salt.  Makes one loaf.

Enjoy! ♥

Cozycakes suggestions: I was out of dried minced onion so I used 1/2 a tablespoon of granulated onion instead of the 1 tablespoon dried minced.  Also, my house was COLD today so my dough took longer to rise.  For the second rising, I placed the dough (in the pan) in a warmed oven (I let the oven heat to about 175 degrees then turned it off ) with the door open and it rose quickly. 

Joined the fun at Feeding Big’s In and Out of the Kitchen Party and Walking on Sunshine and Foodie Friends Friday.

Comments

  1. Love dill in bread and other things..must be the nordic blood from my gandma D. Nee Christiansen

  2. Uh, my kids are eating chicken nuggets and cut up veggies. You are my hero! 🙂 Feel better friend!

  3. Will have to try this.

  4. I love anything with dill 🙂

  5. Do you think there’s a substitute for dried onion? I wonder of fresh chives would work?

  6. This bread looks really good! I bet it would be perfect with a warm bowl of soup on this cold day!

    Thank you so much for linking this wonderful recipe up to In and Out of the Kitchen! I look forward to seeing what you bring next week!

    Cynthia at http://Feedingbig.com

  7. I love to bake bread but have never added dill. Thanks for sharing with us at Foodie Friends Friday.
    Dawn
    http://spatulasonparade.blogspot.com

  8. I used to make this all the time back in the 70’s when the recipe first surfaced, I think. I’ve lost my recipe and am a BIG fan of Gooseberry Patch (don’t know how I missed this!) so thank you, thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Dilly Casserole Bread from Cozycakes […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

