Cinnamon Pecan Sweet Potatoes

pecan sweet potato 2

For me, sweet potatoes are perfect when they’ve been pricked with a fork several times, baked in an oven, and eaten without any fancy adornment.  I love them this way for breakfast without butter (gasp!) or sugar (what!).  Granted, you’ve got to have a good sweet potato to enjoy it like that.  Sometimes they’re out of season and tasteless.

On the other hand, I can scarf down sweet potato casseroles like nobody’s business.  Even the kind with marshmallows on top.  More, please.

Here’s one of my favorite ways to make sweet potatoes for holiday gatherings or…for me.  I made this for dinner last week and decided to skip my entrée portion to make room for a triple serving of potatoes.  In the morning, I made my little one a huge bowl of oatmeal with flax & wheat bran…and heated up a huge portion of the potatoes for myself.

You can do that when you’re the mom.  It’s your right.

This is great for a holiday potluck or as a side dish to a comforting winter meal.  ♥

Cinnamon Pecan Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 2.5 to 3 lbs sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes.
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 2 Tbsp orange juice
  • 1/4 tsp grated orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 3 Tbsp butter, chopped

Topping

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tbsp cold butter
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped

Preheat oven to 400°.  Grease a 13×9-in. pan.  Peel and cut potatoes; set aside.  In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, vanilla, milk, orange juice, orange zest, salt,cinnamon, and ginger.  Add potatoes.  Toss and coat all potatoes.  Place in greased pan and dot with butter.

*At this point you can cover and refrigerate until ready to bake.  I prepare it to this point in the morning so I have one less dish to worry about come late afternoon.  Then simply pull out of the fridge and bake as directed below.

Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Make the topping:  Mix flour, sugar, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Cut in the butter until the mixture becomes crumb-like.  Add the chopped pecans to the bowl and sprinkle topping evenly over the potatoes.  Return potatoes, uncovered, to oven and cook an additional 25-30 minutes (should bubble and potatoes should be tender when tested with a fork).

Enjoy!

Comments

  1. Sweet potatos microwave til soft…mash with butter snd parmisian cheese and season salt to taste…yum love savory

  2. I am making these TONIGHT! I love the sounds of this recipe! Thanks, Danielle! As always, your posts are gorgeous!

  3. Delightful Scents says:

    Im a new follower, and I just had to say that this recipe looks so good! Ive loved sweet potatoes for a long time… =)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

