Blueberry Cream Delight Muffins

blueberry cream muffin whole

It seems most people have “their” blueberry muffin recipe.  My mom has a delicious blueberry muffin recipe that I use as my own, but sometimes I like to switch it up and try something new.  I made these blueberry cream muffins on a whim because I had an open container of sour cream I wanted to use up, lots of frozen blueberries, and a little girl who said, “I desire muffins this morning, Mummy!”

I think I watch too many BBC programs.  Her accent is spot on and her need for “tea and biscuits, dear” is growing daily.  🙂

blueberry cream muffin split

If you like more blueberry and less sugary sweetness in your muffins, these could be the muffins for you.  I find frozen blueberries work wonderfully in baked goods and I kept the tradition with these.  If you like your muffins on the sweeter side, do add more sugar or go for all white/granulated sugar.

Danielle’s Blueberry Cream Delight Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • heaping 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups frozen blueberries

Crumb topping

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed very small
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400°.  Grease a 12-cup muffin pan (or fill with paper liners).  Beat eggs in a large bowl.  Add sugar and beat until mixed completely.  Add oil and vanilla.  Mix until well incorporated.  In another bowl, mix flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Alternate adding flour mixture and sour cream to egg mixture.  Gently fold in blueberries.  Fill muffin cups with batter.  These make large muffins–If you feel they’re too big, you can make more than 12 muffins.  Sprinkle crumb topping generously on top of each muffin and bake for 20 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean).  Enjoy!

Cozycakes Suggestion:  We like our muffins split when warm & spread with a generous helping of butter.  ♥

Comments

  1. Looks yummy friend!! Do these freeze well too? I need to do some freezer cooking. Its been forever since I’ve done any bulk freezer cooking.

  2. Hi there. Food on Friday: Muffins and Cupcakes is open for entries. This looks like a neat one! I do hope you link it in. This is the link . Please check out some of the great links there are already. Cheers

  3. thanks for linking this nice one in to Food on Friday. There is now a great collection of muffin and cupcake ideas to check out! Cheers

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog via Google Reader. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

  4. I’m glad your daughter’s learning about life’s priorities. 🙂

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

