Making Your Home a Haven: Week 3

It’s week 3 of Women Living Well’s Making Your Home a Haven: 31 Day Fall Challenge.  Here’s the challenge as written by Courtney of Women Living Well:

Focus on the kitchen, the heart of the home. Cook things with pleasant aromas – like homemade bread, pies, and cookies. Don’t wait to have a reason to make something special – do it simply to show love to your family. Invite your kids and/or hubby to cook along side you– make memories in the kitchen – test tasting, being creative, laughing and loving. Remove discontentment and give thanks to God for the home God has given you in which to create a haven for your family.

This might be my favorite challenge to date.  I love an excuse to be in the kitchen.  My little girl is always asking to help in the kitchen and although there are certainly days when I just want to cook alone and not clean up additional messes, I like this reminder:  I create my home, I create my haven.  Letting my daughter help in the kitchen is a wonderful way to help her feel nourished and create memories.  Sacrificing a clean kitchen for the sake of building traditions, instilling a love of home and caring for family, while working together in the kitchen, is worth it to me–I just have to remind myself that some days. 🙂

Because many of you are traveling for the holiday, staying with family or friends, you can take part by helping out in the kitchen wherever you’re calling home this week.  When you return home, keep up the challenge by warming up your home with something freshly baked or something simmering away on the stove top.

As Courtney said,it’s not the things you do or don’t have that make your home a haven–YOU are the key to making your home a haven.  🙂  Keep that candle burning and the music playing and let’s get cooking! ♥

Have you joined this challenge yet?  It’s not too late to begin!

xx ~Danielle

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

