Cooking with Gooseberry Patch: Iced Brown Sugar Coffee Bars

It’s a bit of a dreary, cool day.  And I love it, of course.  My little one slept in so we missed out on gym time, but hopefully we’ll make it later (because I seriously need to burn calories after this morning).  We stayed in our pajamas for longer than most deem acceptable.  We lingered over breakfast and then Munchie said, “Let’s bake something for our friends!” (or “Let’s bake sumpin for our fwends!”)

And so we did.

I read off the recipes in what might be my favorite Gooseberry Patch book of all time (that sounds so dramatic.  I like it): Fall, Family & Friends.  Page by page, I read the recipe titles while Munchie questioned the ingredients:  “Does it have 4 or only 3 cups of sugar?  Does it have milk and vanilla?  Do we whip it up with the big mixer or the hand mixer?”  When I read “Mom’s Instant Coffee Bars” she said, “That’s the one!  I want the coffee one!”  I’m guessing that’s because she’s never had coffee and stirs my cup for me on the mornings I partake.  Good pick!

Moist, slightly gooey, and best when warm in my opinion.  The frosting just takes it over the top.  There’s a lot of brown sugar in these.  A lot.  So join me at the gym later, why don’t you?  And for now just grab a cup of tea or (how novel) a cup of coffee and treat yourself to something sweet.  I did.  🙂

Here’s the recipe shared by Kim Malusky of Twinsburg, OH.  Thank you so much, Kim!  I’m calling these “Iced Brown Sugar Coffee Bars” because I want to highlight the brown sugar.  But they’re actually called “Mom’s Instant Coffee Bars” and I like that name, too–it’s homey and cozy.  Anything moms make are usually just so. ♥ Enjoy!

Mom’s Instant Coffee Bars (or Iced Brown Sugar Coffee Bars)

Gooseberry Patch’s Fall, Family & Friends

Ingredients

  • 2 c. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. instant coffee granules (I used decaffeinated)
  • 1 c. boiling water
  • 1/2 c. chopped nuts (I used pecans)
  • 12-oz pkg. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Blend together brown sugar and butter in a large mixing bowl.  Add eggs; mix well.  Add flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.  Mix well; set aside.  Dissolve coffee in boiling water; stir into mixture.  Fold in nuts and chocolate chips.  Spread in a baking sheet with bottom and sides greased and floured.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  Immediately frost with Coffee Frosting.  Cut into squares.  Makes 2 to 3 dozen.

Coffee Frosting:

  • 1 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 T. butter, softened
  • 1 t. instant coffee granules
  • 1 T. boiling water

Blend together powdered sugar and butter in a medium bowl; set aside.  Dissolve coffee in hot water; blend into sugar mixture.

Cozycakes suggestions:  I warmed my frosting in the microwave for a few seconds to loosen it up and help everything dissolve completely.  Also, the coffee flavor is quite mild in these bars.  I like it that way, but you might choose to add a bit more instant coffee granules if you’re looking for a stronger flavor to come through.

Featured at the fun party over at Walking on Sunshine and Foodie Friends Friday linky party.

Comments

  1. Marlene vella says:

    I will try these out tomorrow, for sure!

  2. These look so delicious!! Can’t wait to try them! 🙂

  3. Oh YUM!! These look amazing! I don’t drink coffee, but I love the flavor 🙂 I’m adding these to my list. Pinning, in fact!
    ~April

  4. Yum! These look great! 🙂

  5. Oh My! These look so delicious. I am going to pin them and share them on my facebook! I can’t wait to make some.

  6. Thanks for sharing with us at Foodie Friends Friday

  7. These look so good — I MUST try them. I might have a bit of a coffee addiction, so naturally these must be made.
    Found you through Food Friends Friday and am following. Would love a follow back!
    http://d-and-s-macke.blogspot.com
    Happy Friday!

    • Hi Desiree! I will come by for sure. Having a bit of internet trouble tonight, but will try again tomorrow. I can’t get to a lot of sites. I loooove coffee flavored things–have you had Trader Joe’s java ice cream? oh dear….

  8. Thanks or sharing them on Foodie Friends Friday! They look good!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

