Making Your Home a Haven: Week 2

It’s week 2 of Women Living Well’s Making Your Home a Haven: 31 Day Fall Challenge.  Here’s the challenge as written by Courtney of Women Living Well:

Play soft music everyday in your home. Choose worship, classical or another form of peaceful music that the family enjoys. I’ll be playing Christmas music! Focus on using peaceful words and maintaining peaceful relationships. Work on gentleness this week.

Like Courtney, I  played Christmas music yesterday and for most of today.  In the morning, when I’m the only one up, I choose classical music to ease me into my day.  I could certainly use reminders to focus on using peaceful words and being more gentle.  I am one crabby lady some days.  I’m already loving this challenge and plan to keep it up even when the entire challenge series ends.

Courtney speaks of Proverbs in this challenge and I find it a wonderful companion to the challenge.  Here are two of my favorite Proverbs verses:

Reckless words pierce like a sword but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” Proverbs 12:18

“A man of knowledge uses words with restraint, and a man of understanding is even-tempered.” Proverbs 17:27

I’m practicing being more gentle with my daughter.  I often tell my husband that I hate to see her spirit broken by harsh tones and a rough manner.  This challenge assists my focus in this area since I can be quick with the tongue and regretful just moments later.

What a difference my candle (Week 1’s Challenge) and this soft music makes.  As Courtney said in her post last week, it’s not the things you do or don’t have that make your home a haven–YOU are the key to making your home a haven.  🙂  Keep that candle burning and the music playing!

Have you joined this challenge yet?  It’s not too late to begin!

xx ~Danielle

Comments

  1. Good advice from Proverbs..more current from Dr. Laura.. are You someone (wife , husband or children) they would look forward to coming home to.

  2. Thanks for the reminder to live well. I love the soft music idea.

  3. I’m finding that the music is just adding to the din….oops! Maybe I need to try some different music??

    And I can’t believe that you could ever be crabby! That’s just not possible 😉

    • Oh, I can be crabby. I could teach a class on it. Wanna attend? 🙂 okay, lol over your music and the din! I’ve been playing classical music or Christmas tunes (classic not the newer stuff) pretty quietly. If I’m alone, I’ll crank it up a bit so I can hear it as I go from room to room. What kind are you playing? Hey, if it doesn’t work, I vote to turn it off sista!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

