Apple Filled Pull-Apart Bread

Here’s a sweet, apple breakfast treat that’s perfect for the season.  I made a couple little changes from the original recipe which you can find here.  And I’ll be honest:  I woke too late and rushed so I didn’t let the dough rise for very long today.  So this morning’s batch didn’t rise a heck of a lot, but that didn’t bother my family a bit.  We gobbled it up anyhow.

Hope you give this a try on a cool, autumn morning.  Oh! And one more thing: I tend to add a bit more filling than is noted in the recipe.  Why?  Because I love baked cinnamon-ey, apple-ey baked goods topped with frosting…therefore I measure with my gut.  oink.

Apple Filled Pull-Apart Bread

Adapted from Rhodes Bread

Ingredients

  • 16 Rhodes dinner rolls, thawed OR homemade dough
  • 2 Granny Smith apples, peeled and chopped
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar ( I heap it…just keeping it real)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • squeeze or two of lemon (I use Meyer and they yield a lot of juice so I squeeze just about 2-3 teaspoons of juice)

Icing:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar (heaping…I know, glutton)
  • 4-5 teaspoons water, starting with 4 and adding as needed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (I love vanilla, but you might want to add only 1/2 a teaspoon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract/flavoring

Note: I recommend homemade dough for the bread because homemade just can’t be beat. 🙂  However, I like to give “simple” options so busy folks have an “in a pinch” option now and then.  I find the frozen Rhodes is a fine option for busy mornings. Thanks!

If you’re using the frozen Rhodes rolls, I thaw them in the bag in the fridge overnight to make for an easier morning.  Cut each roll in half.  Mix the apples, sugar, nuts, cinnamon, and lemon juice in a bowl.  Flatten each roll half into a small circle (I just use the palm of my hand) on a lightly floured cutting board.  Add about a teaspoon of apple mixture to the center of the dough and seal it by pinching the edges together to form a little ball.  Place each ball in the loaf pan, layering after the bottom is filled.  Then spoon the remaining mixture evenly on top.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rise until double (should take about an hour).  Remove the wrap and bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes, covering with foil the last 10 minutes.  Cool for 5-10 minutes.  Combine icing ingredients in a bowl and pour over bread loaf.  I leave the bread in the pan when I drizzle the icing on it, but you could also remove it from the pan first.  Enjoy!

Featured at the party over at Walking on Sunshine and Food Friends Friday linky party.

Comments

  1. Oh. My.
    I need to get some Rhodes rolls. Pronto.
    Thanks for another recipe that will add another inch to my waistline. Yes, thank you ever so much. 😛

  2. Oh my GAHHHH….

  3. amberleighana says:

    This looks so good!!!! I don’t do yeast or dough very much (or ever!) but you might convince me 😉

    • Hi Amber! The frozen rolls are a nice way to deal with the dough aspect, but homemade is even better, of course…I don’t make a lot of dough around here either. 🙂 Have a great week, miss!

  4. Looks amazing Danielle!

  5. Looks divine! Must make for my apple loving man!!

  6. Ah, another delicious recipe from your cozy little cottage! Is there any way to make it not a billion calories?? 😉 lol

  7. My apple-scorning husband is going to just have to suck it up with this one, cuz the boys and I would LOVE it!!!

  8. Very nice! Thanks for sharing at Foodie Friends Friday!

  9. This looks so delicious! I need to try next time we get apples!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

