Cubes o’ Coffee & Bubble-wrapped Baryshnikov

Warning:  Rambling post ahead.  I blame coffee(ha!).  Rambling!

I’m a coffee late bloomer.  I don’t remember when I decided I loved it, but I was an adult (those who know me would argue then that I can’t be a coffee lover yet…behave).  Probably was in my mid to late 20s before I truly enjoyed a delicious, steaming mug of coffee and never looked back.

I don’t drink it daily, but when I do?  Boy, do I enjoy it.  I don’t discriminate either.  Why should I?  I love an iced coffee, gulping it with no shame, and then bouncing off non-existent walls because caffeine is like a bull in a china cabinet in my system.  Doesn’t stop me though.

And this has nothing to do with anything, but it popped into my head just now…

Years ago, I had the most delicious French pressed coffee (my first) at an endearing little restaurant right before I saw an alternative ballet production starring Mikhail Baryshnikov.  I’m no ballet connoisseur (in fact, I know nothing of ballet except that I love it), but I sat for 3 hours while dear Misha and multiple ballerinas danced around on a stage carpeted in bubble-wrap.

Bubble. Wrap.  During said performance, one of my eyeglass lenses suddenly popped out.  My friend burst into a fit of giggles as I crawled around the floor in the dark, searching for that stupid lens while people loudly shushed her because they couldn’t hear every “pop pop pop popopopopopopopopopopopop” of the bubble-wrap which only made her laugh longer and louder.  I found that naughty lens, shoved it in my purse, and proceeded to enjoy (uh) the rest of the performance with one eye closed so I could look out the lone behaving lens.

And I’m fully aware that I’ve run-on sentences and inappropriate use of commas galore in this post.  I can’t help it.  It’s THE COFFEE!

By the way (see? Ramble!), that wasn’t the last time I had a lens pop out of its own accord.  It happened to me several months ago at the market when an odd man struck up a one-sided conversation with me, standing a bit too close for my liking, making me and my asparagus quite uncomfortable.

Just as I was planning my escape move (i.e. wordlessly turning and walking away), my lens popped out and smacked him.  Like it knew I needed its help.  I’m tight with my glasses like that.  I laughed so hard at my defensive lens, hunched over, hands on my thighs for support, executing the kind of uncontrolled, silent laughter that makes strange men uncomfortable (take that!).  I then promptly called my bff who laughed uncontrollably, asking for a play-by-play of the story whereby I “slow-motioned” the event so she could properly hoot and holler at my elegant behavior.

Uh…what was this post about?

Ah yes, coffee ice cubes!  Do you also hate when regular old ice melts and waters down your iced coffees?  Solution?  Simply let your leftover brewed coffee cool down, pour it into ice-cube trays, freeze, and pop into your iced coffee.  I mean, how easy is that?

Hi cubes, welcome to my life.

I poured a bit of cream in the glass and a splash of vanilla syrup.

I almost licked that cube.

After my coffee had cooled a bit, I topped the cream with it :).  Mmm.  I like it.  A lot.  And no watered down last few sips today.  Totally worth the hard work (hardy har har).

Now that I’ve left you bewildered and confused, I wish you a happy Saturday filled with coffee-iced-cubed glee!

p.s. (sorry, I can’t stop today) Ree Drummond (aka The Pioneer Woman) has a super-duper recipe on her site for the best iced coffee.  It’s delish.  You should try it.  But when I’ve none on hand, I do the above method and it does the trick just fine.  Okay, see ya!

Comments

  1. Ahahahaha have another cup!!! Hilarious!

  2. Jennifer C says:

    I’m still waiting for you to get the glasses cam so i can see these events happening in real time. We’ll still do the play-by-play, bien sur, but really, I need to witness in real life. Enjoy your coffeesss (that’s four cups). Sip.

  3. Ha! Please don’t drive 😉

  4. You crack me up!!! And you’re a genius. I’m a coffee addict since college, late night studying, early mornings. I’m a coffee snob but it’s only because the weak stuff doesn’t touch it. I can’t stand iced coffee because I havent found the right stuff…until now. Love!

    • Oh how I wish I’d thought of this–I’ve seen it making its rounds all over the web and finally did it. It really made a difference. 🙂 I hope you find just the right mix to enjoy an iced coffee esp during the hot months.

  5. My fav so far! Love Iced Coffee and always looking for zippy ways to prepare it!!

  6. Wow, a bubble wrap ballet? Amazing.. how did you not giggle through the entire thing anyway?

    • I don’t know how I didn’t giggle the whole time…well, I was actually trying really hard to SEE the performance through the once good lens. Not the best ballet experience. 🙂

  7. Thank you for the beautiful comment you left on my blog today regarding my dad’s birthday. Just wanted you to know that my dad used to do this with leftover coffee! Great idea! Enjoy!

  8. Ooooh – this looks so yummy and easy!!! Perfect way to use that coffee up that gets left in the pot later in the morning!

  9. I love it! The post and the idea. I love your rambles! So I just had to share this idea as I visited my family. I wish I loved coffee, but to me, the perfect cup of joe would be melted mocha ice cream. So I decided if I ever did this, I would also have to freeze cubes of milk and chocolate syrup. Then maybe fill a cup of milk, drop in a coffee cube, then a handful of chocolate syrup cubes…hmmm…what the heck, maybe a scoop of mocha ice cream to top it off. Yum! I guess I like dessert more than coffee.

    • What. DO IT! I wanna do it! That sounds DELICIOUS! Let’s try it soon (like how I included myself?)! Have you had TJs coffee ice cream? Or maybe jamoca almond fudge ice cream!! Okay, you got me excited!

  10. I love coffee …. and drink it in most any form! LOL. Have a great week!

  11. Glad you are enjoying your coffee! Looks delicious! Wish it had the same effect on me. I’d be spinning in circles and then cry 🙂

    • Ahhhh! Well, that’s why I try not to have it too much although I love it–I go a little nutso and then crash. A few months ago I realized I was incredibly cranky in the mornings when I didn’t have coffee…:( So I cut back big time.

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

