My First Giveaway: Keeping Good Company

UPDATE: THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.  WINNER WILL BE ANNOUNCED LATER TODAY, AUGUST 1st.

Welcome to Cozycakes Cottage’s 1st Giveaway! 

I’m a little too excited about this giveaway, but as I said in my Cherry Almond Crumb Cake post, I’ve been waiting to share something I simply adore with my dear reader-friends. 

So many of you have been incredibly supportive of my foray into the world of blogging.  And though I’ve only been at it since late last November, I’ve grown so fond of my petite spot in the blogosphere.  It’s definitely a comfortable place for me to spend a bit of my time each week.  And it’s a comfy spot in large part because of You

Friends have encouraged and supported me and strangers have become friends. 

So when I stumbled upon these sweet books last week, I grabbed extras so that I could gift some to those I love and share one with one of YOU! 

As I said yesterday, these books are gems in my book (get it?).  I love the watercolor illustrations, the homecooking, the stories, the tips on hosting guests, the focus on making a house a home.  These books by Roxie Kelley and Shelly Reeves Smith are nothing short of Cozy.  Cozy with a capital C.

Where have they been all my life?

In the spirit of the great company I keep in my day-to-day life and through this little blog, I’m giving away a copy of Keeping Good Company: A Season-by-Season Collection of Recipes, with Entertaining and Homemaking Ideas.”  

I’ve already enjoyed the cherry almond crumb cake and there are many more recipes I plan to try soon.  This delightful book is such a great fit with Cozycakes Cottage.  In fact, it’s what a Cozycakes book might look like!  I hope one of you will enjoy this book as much as I’m enjoying it. 

To enter for your chance to win your own copy of “Keeping Good Company” all you have to do is leave a comment answering one or both of the following questions:

  • What little thing/s do you do to make your house a home, a cozy place  for yourself/your family?  

OR 

  • What simple touches to your home or gestures do you do to make guests feel welcome and comfortable be it for tea and a chat or a weekend visit?

For additional entries you may do 1 or both of the following and come back here and leave a SEPARATE comment for EACH ONE so you have multiple entries:

  • Follow Cozycakes Cottage via email by entering your email address in the “Follow Cozycakes Cottage” box on the right hand menu (or fellow WordPress.com bloggers can just click “follow”).
  • Follow me (Danielle @ CozyCCottage) on Twitter by going here or clicking the Twitter button on the right menu bar.

Best of luck to you and thank you for visiting my cottage!

This giveaway ends Tuesday, July 31st and is open to residents of the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom.   A winner will be chosen by Random.org.  I was not compensated for this giveaway nor was I sponsored by the book’s authors, publishing company, or WordPress.  I just wanted to share the love with you! 🙂
*Although you’re welcome to “like” Cozycakes Cottage on Facebook, Facebook comments at the Cozycakes Cottage page do not count as entry into this giveaway. 
Comments

  1. You are getting big!!! Sooooo exciting and fun!

  2. To make my home “cozy” for my family, I always make sure there are their favorite things around. My daughter is a lover of fresh fruit and tea parties, so I make sure there’s always fresh fruit and a few spare minutes for “tea.”. My boys like to build blanket forts and cuddle on the couch. My husband loves to just come home to a clean house and a cooked meal of some sort. I try to make sure to honor the things that are important to them so that they are cozy, in our home.

  3. I am now following you on twitter 🙂 (Diaz8176)

  4. dearjes says:

    I love having guests in our home! Before the arrive I love to think of some of their favorite things… I fill the fruit bowl. And the candy dish… for balance 😉 I get the coffemaker ready and I stock the guest kitchen with drinks and snacks that they might enjoy! I always make sure there are plenty of breakfast options for guests who would rather hibernate for a few hours before being thrust into our rowdy world.

  5. I always try to keep my dining room table looking nice. It’s calming and cozy to us.

  6. Erin @ My Mommy World says:

    Congratulations on your first giveaway! That book is right up my alley…hope I win!

    To make my home a little more cozy, I like to decorate with candles and afghans or blankets draped over the chair or sofa. It also never hurts to have some chocolate banana bread in the freezer and Starbucks coffee ready to brew 🙂

  7. Erin @ My Mommy World says:

    I already follow you via email!

  8. Erin @ My Mommy World says:

    I already follow you on twitter!

  9. I’m now following you by email as well!

  10. When I have friends and other guests come over I usually put fresh wild flowers out on my entry way table and make the sure the air smells good instead of like dirty diapers. We still got one in diapers.

    And to make my home cozy I make sure our book shelves are stacked with good reads, lots of pillows on the couch and paint color. Color really cozys-up a space.

  11. I don’t know if this is considered “cozy” :), but I love to plate my dishes in funny faces for my girls, even my hubby sometimes gets happy faces out of his food 🙂 I hope the girls always remember this!!

  12. Congrats on your first giveaway!!! I don’t know if I qualify as cozy, but if I have friends over for tea, I try to bring out pretty plates and use nice napkins to make them feel special!

  13. We’ve had my grandma come to stay with us for 2 months. At bedtime I turned down the sheets, placed a dark chocolate carmel on her pillow, a bottle of water and a note from us welcoming her. I wanted her to feel as though she was at a hotel but in the comfort of home also! 🙂

  14. ravensfan says:

    I have a book that people write in to leave their comments after they’ve spent time here at home. It’s fun to watch guests really contemplate what they’re going to write and to watch them read other people’s comments. My 9-yr-old niece loves to come here and spend the night. Just the other day, she called to ask when she can have a sleepover here because she wants to write in my guest book again!

  15. Cozy in my house is…coffee/tea; a cushy, soft blanket and pillow; a great book or magazine; praise & worship music or jazz; and lots of candles….add a rainy day to that and I am in HEAVEN! :O)

  16. I love fresh scents, my favorites are light and clean and not too overpowering. I have a favorite Vanilla Orange Trapps Candle to fill my home with a fresh aroma, sometimes I bake cookies or breads, in summer I cut fresh lavender from my garden and place next to the pillows on the bed stand. The scent is welcoming. Coffee aromas in the mornings are especially nice, even on those days when I am the only guest at my house ; )
    I like to put fresh white sheets, with layers and layers of all white comforters and blankets on the beds in the guest rooms.
    Thanks for your great giveaway!

  17. Our dog and cat make our tiny Brooklyn apartment feel like home.

  18. I get very few guests out here in the boonies, so I will have to answer your first question.
    What do I do to make our home a cozy place for my family? It all comes down to the five senses (See, Hear, Smell, Taste and Touch). Fresh flowers in a vase on the table, favorite music (and lots of laughter), the scent of fresh-baked goodies or savory dinner (or at the very least, a yummy candle burning), tasting the aforementioned goodies, and lots and lots of hugs and kisses!
    Now that’s my idea of a cozy cottage! 🙂
    Thanks for the chance to win. The book looks fabulous!

  19. I already follow you on WordPress. 🙂

  20. I’m following you on Twitter. :/

  21. Glogirl says:

    To make our house a home we have family photos displayed and art work on the walls that was done by a family member. It makes our home more personalized and cozy!

  22. I’m so excited for you for this giveaway! It makes your blog seem even more legit than ever. Oh, man, I don’t deserve this book but would benefit greatly from it! I’m still learning tips on hosting…my family is a “come crash anywhere” type of family. I suppose I attempt to make my home cozy by making it functional instead of stuffy…no unused sitting rooms in this house and the play area is front and center- I have my whole life to perfect our house once the kids are grown. I want to cherish these times and have the kids around! It will be gone to quick. I also love family photos all around!

  23. Such wonderful ideas, tips, and what gracious hostesses! I’m having a great time reading these! Thank you all for entering the giveaway!xxx

  24. Kathleen Marie says:

    I like to make fresh baked apple cake. It not only tastes good, but makes the house smell so inviting with the apple and cinnamon aroma floating throughout the house.

  25. Congratulations on your first giveaway, Danielle 🙂 I make my house a home by baking sweet treats for my family and friends.

  26. I already follow you on Twitter 🙂

  27. Just signed up to read via email!

  28. How fun! Congrats on your first give away and success! Always knew you had it in you. 😉

  29. I make my house a home by playing soft music and lighting candles. Ambience is everything! Thanks for the chance to win these sweet books! Shelley Reeves Smith is one of my all-time favorite artists, so these would be a true joy to own.

  30. susanobryant says:

    I follow you via email now!

  31. susanobryant says:

    And I’m following you via Twitter (@susanaudrey)

  32. I’m unable to close comments, however, this GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. Thank you! Winner will be announced soon! (later today, August 1st)

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

