Catching the worm

There was a time in my stay-at-home-mom life when I was waking before the sun.  I’d relax with tea or coffee, make breakfast, exercise a bit, cross off multiple items on my to-do list.  All before anyone (be it dog or person) woke.

And then one day I decided to sleep in.  Soon 5:00 or 5:30 became a distant memory and my mornings became a blur. It became too easy to justify late nights: I wanted to relax after the little one went to bed.  Had to know which woman (or man) now loved and feared Don Draper all at once and what Roger one-liner would have me in stitches.  Needed to cruise the web for an hour because surely there was a deal on a pair of boots to be had or yet another recipe to test.  Had to play catch-up with chores that seemed to be multiplying (hmm, wonder why?).  Wanted to read just one (or 4) more chapters before turning off my light.

Of course I needed to sleep until just before the little one rose.  I was far too tired from my busy evening (snort) to wake at 5:30.

My schedule has been less than ideal, to say the least.  I wake a bit cranky (sorry family).  I feel rushed and behind before my day even begins.  So I decided to at least give it a shot once this week to see if I really needed to get back on that early to bed/early to rise schedule.  Perhaps I’d realize other adjustments could be made without me sacrificing Don and other must-see TV, reading for an hour, and doing who-knows-what on the computer.

One day this past week I woke before the sun came up.  Showered and readied myself for the day, drank a cup of coffee while checking emails, wrote a few to-do lists, and headed to the market.  The store was barren save for the employees stocking the shelves.  Ah, I’d missed those early morning shopping trips free of crowds.  When I returned home, the house was still quiet.

Wheeee!

photo credit 

I started breakfast and cleaned a bathroom.  I Windexed the downstairs windows, watered some plants, sifted through 3 days of mail, & decluttered 2 kitchen cabinets before I heard my little one pitter pattering down the stairs.

The rest of the morning was stress-free and relaxing.  By the time it was time for us to head out the door for preschool, I had accomplished most items on my to-do lists and felt really good.  Huh.  I fancy myself a night owl, but do I prefer early mornings to myself?  Could it be?

Somehow the rest of the week got away from me and I didn’t wake as early as I’d hoped.  Surprise, surprise.  But I have grand plans to begin again this week and for the rest…of…my…life (I am laughing over here.  Can you hear me?)  There will be failures, probably more than I’d like to admit, but that’s okay.  And although I liked how much I got done before 9 a.m., what I loved most was my state of mind.  My relaxed and accomplished mood was not only beneficial for me, but my family as well.

Goal for the week:  Wake by 5:30 Monday thru Friday.

Let’s see how much I can get done and if I’m still singing the praises of early mornings by Saturday.   🙂

Are you an early riser or do you prefer the life of a night owl?  When is your most productive time of day?

Comments

  1. I’m an early bird. I love a good worm breakfast burrito. But sadly… the pitter patter of little feet are usually what wakes me up. Cause my boys are even earlier birds than I. Sigh. So early yes. Alone and productive. No. But we can all eat our worms together happily.

    • I love your early risers. What time are they getting up these days?! Lise is usually a 7-7:30 riser and I’m hoping it stays that way. It is best for all that I have time to “wake” alone for an hour at least.

  2. Chirp chirp.

  3. I stay up late after Violet goes to bed. While reading those two or three (or four) bedtime stories I am always thinking about what I can accomplish after she goes to sleep. Like, clear off the cluttered kitchen table or wash the piled up dishes. Laundry. Knock down my growing stack of magazines to be read. You get the picture. Thing is, I rarely do any of that. Usually I end up in front of the tv until I’m bleary-eyed, then I stumble to bed and wake up depressed that the house is still the mess it was the previous evening.
    I applaud you for your goal! It is a wonderful goal to have. Will I make the same one? I don’t know. I hate announcing goals to the world and then failing miserably. You have inspired me, though. I do feel better about myself when I get up early and get something done.
    Sorry. I’m rambling.
    Enjoy your worm. It’s eleven-thirty here and I’m still drinking coffee.

    • Chuckle chuckle 🙂 I know the feeling, I know it too well (and I love that you’re making lists during storytime..efficient!) I find the public announcing helps keep me on track…although I’ve failed plenty of times, too. Let’s not talk about that though. 😉 I feel good after my early wake-up this morn. Let’s see how I feel at 3.

  4. You can do it!!!!!!!!! You won’t be sorry, but don’t beat yourself up if you slack off! I’m one for feeling great after an early morning routine, myself, but I don’t necessarily practice what I preach! I’m rooting for you!

    • Thank you for your support, Tammy! I imagine you have to rise well before I do…how do you do it? I will remember your words when I wake late and am upset about it–Instead, I’ll try, try again! 🙂

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

