Buttermilk Breakfast Cake

I think buttermilk is a gift from heaven.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

This is supposed to be a breakfast baked good.  But we had it for dessert.  I can not be expected to wait until morning to slice into a freshly baked cake.  Who does that?  I’m sure people do it.  I’m so weak.

See the large hole on top?   Not the Bundt pan hole, the “someone took a bite” hole.  I did that.  In case you’re wondering.

That dark line around the cake is cinnamon and brown sugar.  Chomp. 

It has a simple buttermilk glaze.  Simple is good. 

This is a recipe from Southern Living.  I love Southern Living and now I love this dainty cake.  5 eggs and a stick o’ butter probably means it’s illegal to call it dainty.  Using a white cake mix (well, hello simplicity!) and a few other ingredients including beloved (to me) buttermilk, this cake becomes a fluffy, moist, light (tasting) delight.  I had it for dessert, as I mentioned, and am already anticipating my cup of tea with a slice in the morning.

So, good night! 🙂

Buttermilk Breakfast Cake

(from Southern Living May 2008)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (18.25-oz.) package white cake mix ( I used Duncan Hines, my fave)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 5 large eggs (yea, 5)
  • 3 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon (I use heaping teaspoons)
  • Shortening
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar

Buttermilk Vanilla Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp. buttermilk ( I used 3)

Preheat oven to 350°. Beat first 3 ingredients at medium speed with an electric mixer 1 1/2 minutes or until thoroughly blended; add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.  Stir together brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.  Grease a 12-cup Bundt pan with shortening; sprinkle with sugar.  Spoon 1/3 of batter into prepared pan; sprinkle brown sugar mixture evenly over batter.  Top with remaining batter.  Bake at 350° for 45 minutes or until a long wooden pick (I use a bamboo skewer) inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Cool cake in pan on a wire rack 15 minutes; remove from pan to wire rack, and cool 20 minutes.  Drizzle glaze over slightly warm cake.

Joined the fun at Walking on Sunshine & Foodie Friends Friday!

Comments

  1. I’ve got my first scorching hot cup of coffee sitting in front of me and this is just the thing I need to soothe my shocked tongue. Too bad it’s there and I’m here.
    I love your photographs! What kind of camera do you use?

    • I decided on coffee instead of tea, too. And am eyeballing the cake now. My photos?–Thank you! You ARE my friend, aren’t you? I use a Nikon D40. I don’t know how to use it though. I envy people’s photos daily. I need a class. Or I need to read the manual. 😉

  2. How are you so skinny?!?

  3. I could follow you just for your blog name, (which I adore) but this recipe and our mutual love of buttermilk sealed the deal. Hello, New Friend! 🙂
    ~April

  4. Cake for breakfast, sign me up!! lol. Looks and sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing. Visiting via Walking on Sunshine

  5. I usually don’t eat breakfast, but with this awesome cake on the menu – I’m changing my way, I’m all for breakfast now!:)

  6. Love this recipe! Actually I love all your recipes! And how cute is that hole! Thanks for joining Foodie Friends Friday! Please come back on Sunday to VOTE!

  7. This looks too good for breakfast! Will have to put it on my menu!

    I am pinning this for later!

  8. oh this reminds me of starbucks cinnamon swirl coffee cake.YUM! It looks delicious and thank you for coming back to Foodie Friends Friday and linking up another amazing recipe!

  9. Cherry Smith says:

    I’d want to put some chopped pecans in that cinnamon and brown sugar for that Buttermilk Breakfast Cake ….. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] What’s For Dinner Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Loaf #2 Top Voted AND Most Clicked: Cozy Cakes Cottage Buttermilk Breakfast Cake #3 Top Voted: Jenmi Jenmi Chocolate Chip Cream Pie #3 Most Clicked: One Creative Procrastinating […]

  2. […] from last week… #1 Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Loaf from Hun, What’s For Dinner #2 Buttermilk Breakfast Cake from Cozycakes Cottage #3 Chocolate Chip Cream Pie from Jenmi Jenmi The Three Recipes with the […]

  3. […] 3: #1 Top Voted:  Hun What’s For Dinner Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Loaf #2 Top Voted:  Cozy Cakes Cottage Buttermilk Breakfast Cake #3 Top Voted: Jenmi Jenmi Chocolate Chip Cream […]

  4. […] Clicked: Hun What’s For Dinner Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Loaf #2 Top Voted AND Most Clicked: Cozy Cakes Cottage Buttermilk Breakfast Cake #3 Top Voted: Jenmi Jenmi Chocolate Chip Cream Pie #3 Most Clicked: One Creative Procrastinating […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

