Easy Chicken Fajitas

Here’s an easy weeknight meal with very little clean up.  Love that.  I used to make fajitas on my grill pan all the time, but I get sick of cleaning up splattered oil and such.  I’m all about easy clean up these days with my cracked dishwater hands.

Slice up a red bell pepper, a green bell pepper, and one onion.  You’ll need lime juice so I went ahead and halved one.

Then toss corn starch, garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt, ground cumin, chili powder (not pictured), olive oil (not pictured…what’s the point of the picture then…yea yea, I know), and a bit of water in a 1-gallon Ziploc bag.   Add about 1-1.5 lbs of thinly sliced chicken breasts (I keep mine to about 1-inch strips) to the bag along with the sliced veggies.  Smoosh around (what’s the technical term?) & toss about to cover it all in the liquid-spice mix and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes.  You could do this in a pan or dish, but sometimes I prefer the mess-free/dish-free Ziploc method.

Heat olive oil in a large non-stick skillet and cook the chicken mixture.  Turn/mix occasionally until the chicken cooks through.  I like my peppers cooked a bit more so I cook it for about 12-15 minutes.  You might prefer a shorter cooking time if you like your peppers crunchier.  Squeeze a bit of lime over the chicken mixture.  Warm the tortillas then top with chicken, and add shredded cheese, sour cream, salsa, and cilantro to taste.

I felt the need for a little adult beverage to go with my fajita.  It was the limes.  The limes made me do it.

Easy Chicken Fajitas

  • 1 to 1.5 lbs. chicken breast, sliced in 1/2 inch strips
  • 1/2 heaping tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 heaping tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 small red bell pepper, seeded and sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and sliced
  • limes
  • flour tortillas
  • Add-ons: cilantro, shredded cheese, sour cream, salsa

Combine onion powder, salt, garlic powder, cumin, cornstarch, chili powder, 3 tablespoons olive oil, and water in 1-gallon Ziploc bag.  Add the sliced peppers, onions, and chicken.  Toss the bag a bit so the chicken and veggies are covered in the liquid-spice mixture.  Put in fridge for 20-30 minutes.

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large non-stick skillet on high heat.  Cook the chicken and veggies, stirring/mixing occasionally until the chicken is cooked through.  If you like the peppers softer, cook a few minutes longer.  Squeeze a bit of lime over chicken.

Warm tortillas and top with chicken mixture.  Serve with shredded cheese, cilantro, sour cream, salsa, and lime wedges.

Comments

  1. I love chicken fajitas, but have never made them myself, so I’ll have to try this out!

  2. Those look yummy! I may just have to try them! =)

  3. Looks wonderful! I’ll have to try this. And what about your adult beverage?! What is it? Looks delicious too

    • Oh, that’s my new favorite cherry spritzer with cherry vodka. 🙂 The fajitas are good if you grill them (indoors in this weather) on a grill pan, too…a little more “authentic” that way!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

