Hot Cocoa with Almond Milk

Remember how I said I’m purging mountains of magazines?  And that I have to go through each magazine and tear out the recipes, pictures, inspiration before tossing them?  Well, this recipe is from one of those mags…from 2007.  Well, hey, at least I try out the recipes now and then!

We only recently started drinking almond milk on occasion (without giving up our beloved regular milk, too), so I was eager to try almond milk hot cocoa.  This has quite a kick to it.   Note: If you are not a huge fan of cinnamon, I’d suggest cutting the cinnamon sticks down to just one half a stick (or eliminating it altogether).  I’m a cinnamon lover and I cut it back to 1.  This isn’t a typical cup of cocoa, but tasty nonetheless.  Munchie and I enjoyed a cup before lunch today.

Also, a small cup is all you really need because it is chocolatey and rich.  I think this is a good base recipe (minus the cinnamon) to add different ingredients to suit your taste.  I already have some ideas about making this just perfect for me.  Stay tuned 😉

Here’s all you need to make this.   It calls for dark chocolate, but if you like milk chocolate, go for it!

Split cinnamon stick so you have your half to use.  Although, as I mentioned, you might opt out of using cinnamon sticks.  Next time around, I’m going to try flavoring with a bit of vanilla instead.

Finely chop up about 2 ozs (or 1/4 cup) dark chocolate.  Again, switch it up and add whatever chocolate you like best…

Then heat the almond milk and cinnamon stick half to boiling over medium heat.  Turn heat down to let it simmer for about 8 minutes.  Remove cinnamon stick and save for garnish.  Next, add all other ingredients and whisk for about 2 minutes until it gets a bit frothy.  We added whip cream and green sprinkles to St. Patty it up a bit.

Hot Cocoa with Almond Milk

From Martha Stewart Living (Dec. 2007)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • Half a cinnamon stick–Split a cinnamon lengthwise (eliminate if you aren’t a fan of cinnamon)
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 2 ozs (or 1/4 cup) dark chocolate, finely chopped (use whatever type of chocolate you prefer)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar (I’d like to try turbinado next time)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Bring milk to boil (and cinnamon stick if using) on medium heat.  Turn down and let simmer for 8 minutes.  Remove cinnamon stick and set aside to use as garnish.  Add chocolate, salt, sugar, and cocoa powder.  Whisk quickly for about 2 minutes until it becomes a bite frothy on top.  Garnish whip cream and cinnamon stick if desired.

Comments

  1. That sounds perfect for a day like today. Man, do I miss me some hot cocoa! It will probably be hot as balls before I am done nursing and can indulge in dairy again, but something tells me not even hot weather will keep me from reuniting with my beloved hot cocoa! Thanks for the recipe…doesn’t that just affirm why you’ve been saving the mags for so long! Way to go through them…and keep up the purging!

    • Are you as excited as I am for our predicted “major rainy weekend”? Actually, probably not.:) Ha! Yes, I now feel affirmed thanks to you–thank you for the support! We will meet up at the hotspot for your beloved hot cocoa at 6am come hot weather. Yes, I’ll be honking at the curb. Get ready!

      • Although my spirit comes alive in warm weather, I welcome the change these days…in small doses. It seems like we don’t get enough cold days anymore. I was laughing when the DJ on the radio was talking about Storm Watch 2012…that’s just embarrassing! Maybe we could run to hotspot from our houses and meet up – okay, now we’re getting crazy! I would be calling hubs to pick me up after a tummy full of hot cocoa!

        • Ahh, the warming of the earth. I need some cold and rain! It is vital to my survival. Believe me. Sure, we can run except I’ll be there in 2.5 minutes and you’ll be there in 10 because you’re farther! How bout we just drive. Cause what if it rains? 🙂

  2. This looks so yummy and I am game for the cinnamon. Also, go dark (chocolate) or go home!

    No, wait! You don’t really have to go home. Come back and drink your hot cocoa. 🙂

  3. P.S. Good job using a 4-year-old magazine recipe!

  4. I’m loving the St. Patty sprinkles you added here. It just makes it more fun to drink. Very nice presentation and I’m sure this one tastes really good.

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

