Cherry Almond Oats Bars

If you’re a Cozycakes follower (Thank you, dear reader, thank you!), then you might have noticed I like to share easy & simple recipes.  I do enjoy my time in the kitchen and certainly don’t mind longer, more involved recipes.  Many of my kitchen concoctions are more complicated (although rarely difficult) than the ones I share here.  In fact, marathon cooking relaxes me and it also brings my little one running to her kitchen stool to help me.  What more could I ask for outta my kitchen?

But I think I’m not alone in needing and wanting quick recipes to turn to throughout the week.  Even though the kitchen is the heart of my home, sometimes I want in and out in a flash.  There are bathrooms that need scrubbing, clothes that need folding, shows that need watching (hey, you can’t let the dvr fill up too much or it reaches its storage limit).  That’s why I share what I consider delicious simple & basic recipes.  If they’re comfort meals to boot?  Then it’s a winner in my book.  If I can help you get a meal on the table on a hectic day when you just don’t have the energy or the time to spend an hour at your stove, then I’ve done my good deed for the day:)

Which leads me to this little bar recipe.  It’s not a meal, but a little snack you can pack up in your kiddy’s lunchbox (or insulated lunchbag–different generation) or wrap and toss in your bag before you head out for work or a day of errands.  It’s quite likely you have all the ingredients in your fridge and pantry already.  I adapted this from a Martha Stewart recipe which called for cranberries.

That’s it.  I don’t eat Cheerios, but I find this bar a nice departure from Rice Krispie treats.   Plus, I pretend I’m giving my family a bit of nutrition when I add almonds and dried cherries.  I just realized my daughter has never had a Rice Krispie treat.  I don’t know if that’s good or bad.  Oh and these cherries?  The best.  Not like shriveled, teeny cranberries or raisins (not that I don’t like them).  These babies are plump and delicious and preservative-free.  I keep them in my freezer (hence the freezer bag) and I chopped up a cup for these bars.

Then I toasted some sliced almonds.  Health.  🙂

Spray a rimmed pan (I use a 13x9x2 inch cake pan) with cooking spray.  Top that with a piece of wax paper and spray it as well.  I’m trying not to use cooking spray in any cooking, but I remembered my ban on cooking spray after I already sprayed.  It’s just so easy!  But I’d suggest using butter instead.  Unless you have a ban on butter.  In which case, we probably aren’t friends and you’re probably not reading this.

I melted about 4 tablespoons of butter in a nonstick pan.  Then I poured in the marshmallows and 2 pinches of salt, and stirred until they were all melted.  I took the pan off the heat and tossed in the cherries and almonds.  Mixed it all up and smashed it all down into the pan.  Done.  Let them sit for an hour and then you can slice them up into whatever size bar you like.

Cherry Almond Oats Bars

Adapted from Martha Stewart Living

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons butter, unsalted
  • 10 ounce bag of marshmallows
  • 2 pinches of salt (I always use kosher salt unless otherwise noted…wait, who am I?  Like I have a cookbook?  I just wanted to sound pro.)
  • 6 cups of Cheerios (or other oat cereal)
  •  about 1/2 cup of sliced almonds, toasted
  • 1 cup of dried cherries, chopped if large

Spray or butter a rimmed pan.  Line with wax paper and spray or butter wax paper.  Set aside.  Melt butter in a large nonstick pan on medium heat.  Add marshmallows and salt.  Mix occasionally until melted.  Remove from heat and add almonds, cherries, and cereal.  Mix together and then press down into lined pan.  Let sit for about an hour so it firms up.  Cut into bars.

Comments

  1. Oh, man. Why did you have to post this tonight? Don’t you know I’m trying not to snack before bedtime?
    This looks really good and I have most of the ingredients. No cherries, but I could probably substitute raisins if I had to.
    I wonder if it would taste the same if I munch on cheerios, marshmallows, almonds and raisins while sitting in my lazy chair, watching American Idol? 😉

  2. Ohh myyy.. round 2 yummy : )

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

