Veggie Tian

Simple and tasty.  That’s how I like my food.  Nothing wrong with healthy, too.  When summer hits, we eat a lot of grilled veggies.  Since it has been a tad chilly in the evenings, I decided to roast the good lookin’ summer squash my favorite little market already carries (how I adore my little market and the folks who run it).  I love this easy veggie tian because it’s versatile and yummy.

I adapt Ina Garten’s recipe from her Barefoot in Paris book for tian.  And by adapt, I mean that I use whatever I have on hand.  You’ll also notice that my tian isn’t very tian looking.  They’re generally lovely, tightly layered veggies in a round or square dish, but eh, I just layer quickly and add whatever I like.  For example, you can see that I only put tomatoes on a small part because my ketchup-adoring husband doesn’t like tomatoes.  No big.  More for me.

I sliced 2 medium zucchini, one russet potato (round potatoes are recommended, but I only had russet.  I find red potatoes and Yukon gold are even better), one small onion, and one yellow squash into 1/4 inch thick slices.  Since I used a large russet potato, I cut the slices in half.  I also sliced 3 small campari tomatoes.  It’s easier and prettier to have like-sized items to layer.  However, as long as it tastes good and I’m not serving the queen, I’m okay with my more rustic approach.

Then I sautéed the onion in a bit of olive oil until they were translucent.  I added the garlic and cooked for another minute.  Then I placed the onion mixture on the bottom of a 9x13x2 inch glass dish that I’d rubbed with olive oil.  I don’t bother using a brush.  My hands are my best tools.  Ok, that just made me laugh.  Next, layer the vegetables alternately on top of the onions.  Sprinkle with a bit of kosher salt, freshly ground pepper, and about 1.5 to 2 teaspoons of thyme.  Fresh time would be choice, but my thyme was neglected and died (who did that?).  Drizzle with olive oil, cover with foil, and pop into a 375 degree oven.

After about 35 minutes, or until potatoes are tender, take off the foil and sprinkle freshly ground parmesan over the veggies.  Dear Ina uses Gruyère, but I rarely have such delightful cheeses on hand.  I find just a bit of fresh parm goes a long way with this dish.  Return uncovered to the oven for another 30 minutes and enjoy!

Veggie Tian

Adapted from Barefoot in Paris by Ina Garten

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, halved and sliced
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced (I used 3 large cloves, but we are a home full of garlic lovers)
  • 1 potato, unpeeled  (I used a large russet)
  • about 2 medium zucchini
  • 1 crookneck squash
  • 2 tomatoes (I used 3 smaller campari tomatoes)
  • kosher salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1.5 to 2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • about 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Rub olive oil on a 9x13x2 inch pan.  Heat about 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a sauté pan and cook the onions on medium heat until they’re translucent.  Add garlic and cook for 1 more minute.  Spread the mixture on the bottom of the pan.  Slice all vegetables about 1/4 inch thick.  Then layer them in one layer over the onions, alternating the vegetables.  Sprinkle with about 1 to 2 teaspoons of salt (depending on your salt preference), about 1 teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper, and the thyme.  Drizzle 1 to 2 tablespoons of olive oil over the veggies and cover with foil.  Bake for about 35 minutes or until potatoes are tender.  Take off the foil and sprinkle the fresh parmesan over the veggies.  Return uncovered to the oven and bake for another 30 minutes.

Comments

  1. Esther Peckham says:

    Love the picture and recipe. I will try it one day when I have more time. I also like Beef Stroganoff as well. Want to see the both of you so badly…

    Esther

  2. Yummo!.. I might organize this recipe for tomorrow night.

    Thanks, plenty..

    Smiles. Tammy : )

  3. This looks wonderful! I can’t wait to give it a try. If it has both your and Ina’s stamp…. it’s bound to be fantastic!

  4. Mmm… This dish looks like Summer to me. And who doesn’t love Summer? 🙂

  5. Sounds and looks delicious! I think I can handle making that! Thanks so much for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Slow cooker sloppy joes, corn on the cob, veggie tian […]

  2. […] honey mustard chicken thighs with peppers, veggie tian, […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

