Recipe: Roasted Heart Potatoes

 

I love to add a little “heart” to our food in the days before Valentine’s Day because, as I’ve mentioned before, this sweet holiday just flies on by.  I saw roasted heart potatoes over at Haniela’s and knew I had to make them.  I was far less fancy and pretty with mine, but they were just as precious to me.

When my munchie and I were hungry for an afternoon snack today, I decided it was time I roasted these potatoes up.

I peeled a few potatoes and sliced them.  Then using a small metal heart cutter, I punched out hearts from the slices.  I tossed the scrap pieces in cold water so they wouldn’t brown up.  Next I parboiled the potatoes for about 3 minutes (I pulled them out with a slotted spoon because I wanted to save the water to boil up the scraps.  I have grand plans for those scraps)and set them aside to cool a bit.

Then I put a bit of olive oil, kosher salt, ground pepper and paprika on the hearts and lightly tossed it all together.  I let it sit for about 30 minutes.

How cute is she?  She always drops beneath the countertop when I take pictures and says, “Let me get my shadow outta the way.”  Dollface.

Back to the potatoes…Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with foil.  Coat the foil lightly with nonstick spray and spread the potatoes out on it.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes.  I flipped the potatoes at about 15 minutes and then continued to let them cook for another 10.  Then I broiled them on high for 5 more minutes as Haniela’s suggested.

Yum.  My girl gobbled these up with a little ketchup on the side and calls them  “heart fries.”

I managed to gobble up quite a few, too 🙂

Comments

  1. I love the heart shaped tater tots. I think there is going to be a cookbook for u to write and photograph in the near futuure!

  2. Oh no you didn’t! I was impressed with my cookie hearts and you gotta do potatoes!

  3. That’s such a cute idea!

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

