Our Menu (Week of January 8, 2012)

It’s supposed  to cool down this week (I am not a fan of 80 degree temperatures in January) so I’ll be using the oven more this week.  My parents gave us a beautiful (I find kitchen items visually appealing:) toaster oven for Christmas so I’ll try that out for a couple of dishes.  I don’t know how to use it yet (it does far more than “toast”), but I’ll just go with the “bake” function this week and focus on the complicated functions next week.

We have a few meals out later in the week because my best friend Jennifer is visiting–it has been too long and I’m more than a little excited.  We have a list of places we plan to oink our way through (always our priority) which is never boring because she loves food as much as I do!

Breakfasts

Oatmeal with dried cherries, bananas, freshly squeezed orange juice

Egg/cheese/veggie skillet, smoothies

Baked apple cinnamon oatmeal, orange juice x 2

Toast with peanut butter or jam, bananas, freshly squeezed orange juice

Lemon blueberry pancakes, hot cocoa (I froze a few from last week for a busy morning)

Breakfast out with visiting guest (can’t wait!)

Lunches

Peanut butter and grandma’s blackberry jam sandwiches, apple slices, milk

Spinach Pasta Salad with yoasted pinenuts and feta (didn’t get to this last week) x 2

Roasted chicken sandwiches on multigrain thins, berries

Beef and bean burritos, fruit

Leftovers

Lunch out

Dinners

Beef tostadas/burritos

One dish Italian chicken bake(veggies included), salad

Tortellini spinach bake, roasted veggies (since I couldn’t find the tortellini we like with this last week, I’m attempting again)

Chicken tortilla casserole, salad

Chicken penne bake, roasted veggies, garlic bread

Dinner out with visiting guest (YAY!)

Leftovers Night

Snacks

Bananas, apples, pears, blueberries

Yogurt

Hummus and multigrain crackers

String cheese

Freezer Cooking:

No freezer cooking this week.  Will resume next week with new recipes to try. 

What’s on your menu this week?  Please feel free to link up to your menu as well!

Trackbacks

  1. […] not feeling frazzled from the holiday season, but I realized this morning that I never posted our menu plan for the week.  oops!  I had hoped to test out a few new slow cooker recipes this week, but I […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

