Lemon Blueberry Pancakes

When menu planning for the past week I realized I had the essential ingredients on hand to make lemon blueberry pancakes.

Happiness.  The gargantuan mug of coffee with too much cream (yum), added to the happiness factor.

Great timing on my part (pat, pat) because my Softasilk was due to expire in April (I Sharpied the date on the top of the box because that’s how things roll in my pantry) and my evaporated milk was expiring as well (there are some things I’m not afraid of when they expire…such as evaporated milk, pudding mix, and marshmallow cream).

These are Pioneer Woman’s pancakes.  I love them.  They’re kind of like if a crêpe married a pancake and they had blueberry babies and wrapped themselves in butter to keep warm.  And the best part is my little munchie girl eats them up without any urging.  If you like pancakes, lemon, blueberries, and dessert-type breakfasts (I can’t lie.  They’re dessert-ey), then you should try these.

As the first batch was cooking I sipped my coffee and read the back of the flour box.

I’m making this.  You can’t stop me!

Maybe I shouldn’t read the back of boxes anymore.  This is not going to help my “lose 10 lbs in a minute” plan.

That’s my fingerprint in the butter.  I needed to smash it around to melt the way I like it to.  My finger does the best job.  You might cook your pancakes up a bit more (as I usually do with regular pancakes), but I like the texture and taste of these when they’re just slightly browned and I remove them from the pan when the berries start bursting and oozing all over the place.  Not gourmet, but I’ve never claimed to be gourmet.  I like my ungourmet ways.

Chomp.

Comments

  1. Ohhhh! Will have to try these! Thanks 🙂

  2. Mmm. I’ve had a lot of bacon and sausage this weekend so I’ll need to get some pastry flour and sugar in my diet for some balance.

  3. These pancakes are fantastic! Every time I pop a bite of one into my mouth, my taste buds burst open with happiness. Literally. It’s not pretty.
    But it sure does taste good!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Lemon blueberry pancakes, hot cocoa (I froze a few from last week for a busy morning) […]

  2. […] Lemon Blueberry Pancakes (cozycakescottage.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under Desserts and tagged Baking powder, Blueberry, Butter, Cook, Flour, Maple syrup, Pancake, Sundays | Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

