Our Menu (Week of December 18, 2011)

English: Thomas Nast's most famous drawing, &q...It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas!  So let the baking and cooking begin!  I’ll stop shouting now.

I didn’t plan my menu on Sunday like I should have, but I’m going to blame…well, myself.  I slacked over the weekend and just enjoyed family time instead of planning for this last week before Christmas.  That’s ok–we have a stocked freezer and pantry so menu planning should be fairly simple and I’ll only need to stop by the market for some fresh veggies and fruit.  Easy!  And I’m guessing Christmas cookies will be on the snack list.  Well.  What do you expect? 🙂

Breakfasts

Oatmeal with dried cherries, bananas, hot cider (my mother-in-law made a huge, yummy batch of cider for her Christmas party and we were lucky enough to be sent home with lots of it)

Quiche, banana/strawberry/pineapple smoothies x 2

Baked cinnamon and apple french toast, berries, hot cider x 2

Breakfast burritos (filled with skillet potatoes, bell peppers, onions, breakfast sausage and cheese), orange juice

Blueberry coffee cake, fruit, hot chocolate

Lunches

Leftovers x 3 plus fruit

Lunch at Daddy’s office (they’re hosting a Christmas w/Santa Day)

Tomato basil soup, toasted French bread w/butter

Peanut butter and grandma’s peach jam sandwiches, apple slices, milk

Lunch out (Daddy-Daughter Day)

Dinners

Pot roast, carrots, potatoes, green beans (didn’t get to this last week)

Chicken pot pies, salad

Make-Your-Own calzones, salad

Sour cream noodle bake, broccoli, french bread

Chicken cacciatore, garlic french bread

Leftovers Night x 2

Snacks

Pears, bananas, apples, blueberries

Banana bread

Smoothies

Carrots, celery, broccoli, dip

Pumpkin chocolate chip muffins (from the freezer), hot cider

Freezer Cooking:

TBD:  I’m undecided on freezer cooking for this week.  I will be baking a lot so that will fall into freezer cooking. ..how healthful, eh?
 

Baking

Christmas sugar cookies

Glazed apple cookies

Citrus butter cookies

Candy cane kiss cookies

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

