Chicken Enchiladas

I can’t vouch for how authentic this enchilada recipe is, but I can tell you that my husband and daughter love it.  This was originally a Tyler Florence (swoon) recipe that I switched up to suit my family’s tastes.  My Tyler has never steered me wrong.  It’s a simple and basic recipe, but sometimes that’s precisely what I want.  And you can always add ingredients to it to jazz it up–my kinda cooking!

It’s tough for me to give exact measurements because I don’t measure with this recipe.  I just add the spices to taste.  Please adjust my guesstimates:)

Chicken Enchiladas

Ingredients

  • 1-1.5 pounds skinless boneless chicken breast (2 large breasts is what I use to feed my family of 3 with leftovers)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon cumin powder (I probably use a bit more)
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons Mexican spice blend (I probably use a tablespoon)
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 3 gloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • small can green chiles, chopped (optional)
  • 1 (14.5-15-ounce) can stewed tomatoes (I’ve used can diced tomatoes or fresh tomatoes, too)
  • 1 teaspoon flour
  • Corn tortillas (I use 10)
  • 2 (14.5-15-ounce) cans of enchilada sauce or 1 (28-ounce) can
  • About 1.5 cups of Colby jack cheese, shredded (or whatever cheese you prefer)

You can brown the chicken on the stove top, but I usually stick it on a sheet pan with salt and pepper, a bit of olive oil, a few dashes of Mexican Spice blend, cumin, and garlic powder and bake it for about 20 minutes.  As the chicken cools, I sauté the onion and garlic in the vegetable oil.  Once the onion is cooked, add the corn (and as much of the chopped chile peppers as you like.  You can leave them out altogether and serve them on the side if you have little ones or guests who don’t like chile peppers).  Cook for a minute, then add the tomatoes and sauté for a couple more minutes.

Meanwhile, shred the chicken–I use my hands and pull it off into small strips.  You can chop it up if you prefer.  Add the chicken to the pan and I add a bit more of all the spices to taste.  Stir it up and add the flour to thicken the mixture if needed (I don’t always add the flour).

Assembling the enchiladas is easy, but much easier if you microwave the corn tortillas for about 25-30 seconds.  They’ll get nice and soft and won’t crack on you as you fold them.  Put a little of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of a couple 9×13 or 11×14 pans–this depends on how many enchiladas you are making.  I tend to make just 10 larger (we are not dainty eaters) enchiladas so I use just one 11×14 pan and pack them in like sardines.  I usually get 8 enchiladas lined up and tuck a couple perpendicular at the bottom.  Then pour the rest of the sauce into a pie plate and dip the tortilla in the sauce, covering the entire tortilla lightly.  Add the chicken mixture to the tortilla, fold over, and put the enchilada in the pan, seam side down.  Once you’ve assembled all your enchiladas, pour as much of the remaining sauce as you like over them.  Top all with the shredded cheese.

Bake for about 15-20 minutes in a 350 degree oven until heated through and the cheese is melted.  We garnish with sour cream, extra chopped chiles, sliced green onions, and tomatoes.  I like to serve Spanish rice, beans, chips, and salsa on the side.

Comments

  1. I am eager to try this!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Chicken Enchiladas (cozycakescottage.com) Share this:ShareTwitterFacebookLinkedInStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Categories: Sensational Soups Tags: Cayenne pepper, Chicken, Chile powder, Cook, Garlic, Masa, Tomato, Vegetable fats and oils Comments (0) Trackbacks (0) Leave a comment Trackback […]

Leave a Reply (I love to hear from you--Your comments make my day!)

